The Chakra System

Chakra is an old Sanskrit word that literally means wheel.

This is because the life-force (or Prana as we call it in yoga, or Chi) that moves around inside of you is spinning and rotating. This spinning energy has 7 main centres in your body (there are actually lots more but most people work with these 7), starting with the base of your spine, the Root chakra, and moving all the way up to the top of your head, the Crown chakra.

In a healthy balanced person, the 7 chakras provide the right balance of energy to every part of your body, mind and spirit.

But, if one of your chakras spins too quickly, is blocked, or moves slowly then your health will suffer.

By learning about the 7 chakras you can become more in tune with the natural energy cycles of your body.

You can use this information to connect physical, emotional and spiritual imbalances with the chakras that empower them. And with those discoveries, you can begin the balance your chakras and live a heathy and harmonious life.

Here are just a few ways to balance and align our chakras:

  1. spend time in nature by sitting on the grass or walking barefoot, often we choose to sit on something to avoid getting dirty but that stops us really connecting with the earth which has amazing healing energies. walking in a woodland, but slowly, just taking it all in, the smells, sights and sounds. Often we walk with others and end up power walking around, talking to each other and not really taking in the environment. There is something really powerful about sitting with your back against a tree and being quiet, in the mind and body. If that’s difficult then just having plants around the house will help clear the air and bring good vibes into your home.
  2. Practice clearing the mind by sitting down and focus on your breath. Once you become aware that the voice has stopped talking then you will notice the space that is created in the mind. Now, in your mind eye, visualise something beautiful, an opening flower, birds sitting in a tree singing together, a waterfall in the sunlight…
  3. Breathing with intention is one of the easiest and most effective ways to balance and restore your chakras. To help bring your chakras into their natural and harmonic balance, every time you inhale, direct the energy of your breath into your chakra, exhale and allow awareness to settle into the chakra.
  4. Practice gratitude – find three things a day that you have been grateful for. This is such a good exercise to do each evening, especially if you can do it with someone as it’s nice to hear what makes them grateful and I find we then start to have gratitude for the smaller things in life.

Where are the chakras and what do they represent?

The 1st chakra is the Root chakra which is located at the base of the spine, (See the picture above – the words on the left are the Sanskrit words for each chakra) it provides the foundation on which we build our life representing safety, security and stability. Imbalanced attributes would be scattered energies, anxiety and fear.

The 2nd chakra is the Sacral and is located below the navel and represents creativity and sexual energies. Imbalanced attributes would be lack of, or repressed creativity, sexual dysfunction, withheld intimacy and emotional isolation.

The 3rd chakra is the Solar Plexus which is located just above the naval. This chakra represents self-esteem, pleasure, will-power and personal responsibility. Imbalanced attributes would be low self-esteem, control, issues, manipulative tendencies and misuse of power.

The 4th chakra is the Heart and is located at the centre of the chest. This is the chakra of love, self-love and governs our relationships. Imbalanced attributes would be depression, difficulty in relationships and a lack of self-discipline.

The 5th chakra is the Throat which is located at the centre of the neck. It represents the ability to speak and communicate clearly and effectively. Imbalanced attributes would be shyness, being withdrawn, arrogance ad increased anxiety.

The 6th chakra is the Third Eye and is located in the centre of the forehead, between the eyebrows. This chakra represents intuition, foresight and is driven by openness and imagination. Imbalanced attributes would be lack of direction and clarity.

The 7th chakra is the Crown and is located at the top of the head. It represents the states of higher consciousness and divine connection. Imbalanced attributes would be cynicism, disregarding what is sacred, closed mindedness and disconnection with spirit.

As the picture above shows all these chakras are associated with the colour they are represented by.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed